Treesontreesontrees

I know that a lot of my artwork features a bit of watercolor, but honestly aside from what I learned in high school art class, I pretty much developed my own techniques without any guidance. Architecture school really gave me great technical skills when it comes to pen and ink and perspective drawings, but I never really played with any other medium in my free time. So naturally, since I’ve started to really like incorporating a bit of color into my artwork, I find it necessary to actually learn the basics of watercolor.

Here’s the tutorial I used to learn the basics of drawing trees – I highly recommend it since it talks about a light source, how much water to use, and how to build up colors in order to develop the textures you want to achieve. After watching it, I realized that I’ve been using the wrong brushes this whole time!

Anyway here’s the video:

 

And here is my interpretation of it:

20170910_121157

If you have any other suggestions on good tutorials let me know!

One thought on “Treesontreesontrees

Leave a Reply

